We use cookies to give you the best experience on our website. Read our Cookie Policy to learn more.



Short stay

EU nationals do not need a visa for a stay of less than 90 days. The passport must be valid for at least six months upon entry into the country. The 90-day stay period applies to the 4 countries of the "C4" (common space including Honduras, Guatemala, Nicaragua and El Salvador), so the total duration of a continuous stay in the 4 countries cannot exceed 90 days.

Beyond 90 days, an extension of stay can be requested for serious reasons upon presentation of supporting documents and payment of a fee of $25.

An airport tax of approximately $35 is payable on leaving the country. It is normally paid at the time of ticket purchase.

It is strongly recommended that you take out travel, health and repatriation insurance.

****Long stay****
**Although the Salvadoran authorities sometimes agree to regularise the situation of people who wish to reside in El Salvador, it is recommended that you prepare an immigration file with the Salvadoran embassy before departure.